Solar Physics

Solar Physics

Sunspots observed with SST

The Sun is the nearest star to us, and compared to other stars, can be studied in great detail. Solar research in Stockholm is carried out by persons associated with the Institute for Solar Physics, based at the Department of Astronomy. The research is a mix of theory and observations. For the observations, extensive use is made of the Swedish Solar Telescope on La Palma. The studies focus on the structure of sun spots, small-scale magnetic fields, spectral line formation and the chromosphere. For further information, visit the web site of the institute.

 
 
 
 

The Institute for Solar Physics

Institutet för solfysik

Name Title E-mail/Telephone
Institutet för solfysik
Tillhör : Institutionen för astronomi
Föreståndare : Göran Scharmer
Alexander Pietrow Doktorand alex.pietrow@astro.su.se 08‑55378528
Carolina Robustini Doktorand carolina.robustini@astro.su.se 08‑55378507
Dan Kiselman Universitetslektor dan@astro.su.se 08‑55378531
David Bühler Post-doc david.buhler@astro.su.se 08‑6747247
Gregal Vissers Postdoc gregal.vissers@astro.su.se 08‑55378528
Göran Scharmer Adjungerad professor scharmer@astro.su.se 08‑55378532
Hiva Pazira Forskningsassistent hiva.pazira@astro.su.se
Jaime de la Cruz Rodriguez Forskare jaime@astro.su.se 08‑55378559
Johan Pires Bjørgen Doktorand johan.bjorgen@astro.su.se 08‑55378507
Jorrit Leenaarts Universitetslektor jorrit.leenaarts@astro.su.se 08‑55378550
Joäo Manuel da Silva Santos Doktorand joao.dasilva@astro.su.se 08‑55378515
Lewis Fox Forskningsingenjör lewis.fox@astro.su.se
Mats Löfdahl Forskare mats@astro.su.se 08‑55378503
Peter Sütterlin Supportastronom pit@astro.su.se 08‑55378559
Sanja Danilovic Forskare sanja.danilovic@astro.su.se 08‑55378530
Sara Esteban Pozuelo Post-doc sara.esteban@astro.su.se 08‑6747247
Sepideh Kianfar Doktorand sepideh.kianfar@astro.su.se 08‑55378558
Tine Libbrecht Doktorand tine.libbrecht@astro.su.se 08‑55378530
Tomas Hillberg Forskningsingenjör hillberg@astro.su.se 08‑55378558

Contacts

Director
Peter Lundqvist
Phone: 08-5537 8518
E-mail: prefekt@astro.su.se

Director of graduate studies
Jesper Sollerman
Phone: 08‑55378554
E-mail: jesper@astro.su.se