The Department of Astronomy at Stockholm University is also the modern Stockholm Observatory and can trace its roots back to the first observatory in Stockholm, which was founded in 1753.

AlbaNova University Center

Since 1973, we have been a department within the Faculty of Science at Stockholm University. The department is the main institution for astronomical and astrophysical research and education in Stockholm.

The department consists of approximately 30 faculty, 5 technical/administrative/research staff, and 25 PhD students. The current director is Prof. Peter Lundqvist.

We are located in AlbaNova University Center, close to the main campuses of Stockholm University and the Royal Institute of Technology (KTH).

The department also houses the Institute for Solar Physics. The head of this group is Jorrit Leenaarts.

Institute for Solar Physics